shopify analytics ecommerce



Tha Happening



Lupinia is a collection of Polly Drinkwater’s darkest and most intimate experiences as a lycanthrope, captured in poems of loss, love, lust, longing, and loquacity. Seeking an elevated understanding of her condition, she finds she is at war with her body, her identity, even her soul. The duality of the human condition through the lens of lycanthropy offers insight into the liminal animality of herself as a living thing. The story of one woman’s struggle to define herself through her own paranormality, Lupinia offers a voice in the wilderness across fecund fields of feral ferocity, through the mind-fire of her ongoing affliction.

Polly Drinkwater lives in Winnetka, Illinois, where she works as a blogger-in-residence for the Triskelia Foundation and as a freelance lifestyle consultant. She is the author of Leavings (Bacchus Books, 2006), Internecinity Limits (Bacchus Books, 2007), Manifestoenail Enamel (Ephemera Alliance, 2007) and Interiorities (Lost Touch Press, 2008).


Born in Missouri, growing up in Ohio, and settling in Chicago, D. T. Neal has always written fiction, but only got really serious about it in the late 90s. He brings a strong Rust Belt perspective to his writing, a kind of “Northern Gothic” aesthetic reflective of his background.

Writing his first novel at 29, he then devoted time to his craft and worked on short stories, occupying a space between genre and literary fiction, with an emphasis on horror, science fiction, and fantasy. He has seen some of his short stories published in “Albedo 1,” Ireland’s premier magazine of speculative fiction, and he won second place in their Aeon Award in 2008 for his short story, “Aegis.” He has lived in Chicago since 1993, and is a passionate fan of music, a student of pop culture, an avid photographer and bicycler, and enjoys cooking.

He has published six novels, Saamaanthaa, The Happening, and Norm—collectively known as The Wolfshadow Trilogy—Chosen, Suckage, the cosmic folk horror-comedy thriller, The Cursed Earth. He has also published three novellas—Relict, Summerville, and The Day of the Nightfish.

He co-edited THE FIENDS IN THE FURROWS folk horror anthologies, The Fiends in the Furrows: An Anthology of Folk Horror, The Fiends in the Furrows II: More Tales of Folk Horror, and The Fiends in the Furrows III: Final Harvest.


• 2008 Aeon Award, Second Place for “Aegis”
• 2009 Honorable Mention, “Best Horror of the Year,” edited by Ellen Datlow for “Aegis” and “Rotgut.”
• Runner-up, 2013 Best New Novel by a Chicagoan, Chicago Reader, for “Suckage”
• Shortlisted for the 2012 Aeon Award for “Day of the Nightfish.”


  • Paperback: 100 pages
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-13: 9781944286231