shopify analytics ecommerce



Blood, Sweat, and Fears



Something’s been eating Samantha’s friends, and she’s more than a little afraid that it might be her. The 28-year-old dilettante lives in Chicago with her hipster chums, staging artistic happenings in a state of prolonged scenester semi-adolescence, wanting to create a sensation with her artwork, and to earn the esteem of her peers. One night, she runs into Ansel Rupino, a tortured, enigmatic artist who infects her with lycanthropy during a one-night stand, devouring Sam’s world in one stray bite. As her infection consumes her, Sam’s creative and destructive expression intensifies exponentially—people’s lives become her ever-bloodier canvas, their lifestyles her tattered tapestry. “Saamaanthaa” pursues Sam’s struggle to define herself as a woman, as an artist, and even as a human being within a distinctly Middle American urban landscape. Can she save her soul and keep from losing her mind as she confronts the leering face of her own ever-growing monstrosity?


D. T. Neal is a fiction writer and editor living in Chicago. He won second place in the 2008 Aeon Award for his short story, “Aegis,” and has been published in Albedo One, Ireland’s premier magazine of science fiction, horror, and fantasy.

He is the author of Saamaanthaa and The Happening, both part of the Wolfshadow Trilogy. He’s also written the vampire novel, Suckage, as well as the Lovecraftian cosmic horror-thriller, Chosen. He has written two creature feature/eco-horror novellas, Relict, and Summerville. He continues to work on new horror and thriller stories.



• 2008 Aeon Award, Second Place for “Aegis”
• 2009 Honorable Mention, “Best Horror of the Year,” edited by Ellen Datlow for “Aegis” and “Rotgut.”
• Runner-up, 2013 Best New Novel by a Chicagoan, Chicago Reader, for “Suckage”
• Shortlisted for the 2012 Aeon Award for “Day of the Nightfish.”



  • Series: The Wolfshadow Trilogy (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 440 pages
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-13: 978-1944286002

February 15, 2019

5 stars
Share This